

March 16, 2020

Councilmember David Ryu
Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson
Councilmember Curren Price
Councilmember Herb Wesson
Los Angeles City Hall
200 N. Spring Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012

Re: Request for Motion and Unanimous Passage for Neighborhood Council Funding Rollover to Fiscal Year 2020-2021

Dear Councilmembers Ryu, Harris-Dawson, Price and Wesson,

We truly are witnessing one of the most sweeping crisis of our time. I am asking for your assistance on an immediate basis with a neighborhood council matter.

Many neighborhood councils, including the one I preside over, have cancelled meetings and events in co-operation with our City's COVID-19 containment strategies. I am deeply concerned over how this change in the rules of engagement will impact funding initiatives in the respective communities and the ability to return to business as usual seamlessly. What can be done to ensure that this interruption isn't disruptive to future neighborhood council endeavors? One answer is to allow NC's to rollover all of the fiscal year 2019-2020 funding to the following fiscal year. This will afford us the opportunity to continue to produce meaningful community events and award neighborhood purpose grants that may not come to fruition.

Because we cannot conduct business as usual so close to the end of our fiscal year, my request is simply that one, or all of you, file a motion that orders the City Clerk to allow all 99 neighborhood councils to roll over all unspent 2019-2020 fiscal year funds into fiscal year 2020-2021. Second, I am requesting that City Council pass this motion unanimously and immediately.

Thank you for your service and for addressing this request with urgency.

With Purpose,

Ms. Thryeris Mason

Chair

South Los Angeles Alliance of Neighborhood Councils

cc: Nicolas Grief, CD4

Solomo Rivera, CD8

Albizael Del Valle, CD8

Curtis Earnest, CD9

Nora Gutierrez, CD9

Deron Williams, CD10

Sylvia Lacy, CD10

Nora Gutierrez, CD9

Racquel Beltran, DONE

Melvin Canas, Office of the City Clerk

SLAANC Presidents